COVID-19 Information and Resources

Three South Dakota Schools honored as National Blue Ribbon Schools

September 25, 2020

Three South Dakota schools were among the few hundred schools recognized last week by the U.S. Department of Education as 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

The South Dakota schools recognized include:

  • Canistota Elementary School
  • Timber Lake Middle School
  • Webster Area Elementary School

According to a September 24 announcement from the Office of the Secretary of Education, “the recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.”

The Education Department recognizes the schools based on all student scores, student subgroup scores, and graduation rates. More information about the schools can be found on the National Blue Ribbon Schools profile page on the Department of Education website.